American Conference ACC Big Ten Big 12 Conference USA MAC Mountain West PAC-12 SEC Sun Belt Independents

College Football Playoff

The Official Website of the College Football Playoff

College Football Playoff Selection Committee

Condoleezza Rice

Condoleezza Rice
Condoleezza Rice

  • Former United States Secretary of State and National Security Advisor.
  • Chosen four times as one of Time magazines "100 Most Influential People."
  • Twice named "Most Powerful Woman in the World" by Forbes Magazine.
  • Best-selling author.

Current Occupation:

  • Professor of political economy in the Graduate School of Business and professor of political science, Stanford University (2009 to present).
  • Thomas and Barbara Stephenson Senior Fellow, Hoover Institution.
  • Founding partner, RiceHadleyGates, LLC.

Career Highlights:

  • Professor (1981-1989; 1993-1999, 2009 - present) and Provost of Stanford University (1993-1999).
    • Football Search Committee (1988)
    • Athletics reported to her as Provost, she oversaw budget, recruiting, coaching personnel and bowl appearances.
    • Hired Tyrone Willingham as head coach in 1994.
  • Board of Directors at the University of Notre Dame (1994-2000).
  • U.S. National Security Advisor (2001-2005).
  • U.S. Secretary of State (2005-2009).


  • Bachelor's degree in political science, cum laude, Phi Beta Kappa, University of Denver (1974).
  • Master's degree in political science, University of Notre Dame (1975).
  • Doctorate in international studies, University of Denver (1981).

Read more about Condoleezza Rice.

College Football Playoff Selection Committee Members

Jeff Long (chair)
Barry Alvarez Lt. Gen. Mike Gould Pat Haden Tom Jernstedt
Oliver Luck Archie Manning Tom Osborne Dan Radakovich
Condoleezza Rice Mike Tranghese Steve Wieberg Tyrone Willingham