American Conference ACC Big Ten Big 12 Conference USA MAC Mountain West PAC-12 SEC Sun Belt Independents

College Football Playoff

The Official Website of the College Football Playoff

College Football Playoff Selection Committee

Archie Manning

Archie Manning
Archie Manning

  • Member of the College Football Hall of Fame.
  • Southeastern Conference quarterback of the quarter century (1950-1975).
  • SEC Most Valuable Player.
  • Two-time all-SEC.
  • NFL quarterback and two-time Pro Bowl selection with the New Orleans Saints.

Current Occupation:

  • Spokesman for several national companies and motivational speaker.

Career Highlights:

  • College Football Hall of Fame (1989).
  • Quarterback, Minnesota Vikings (1983-1984).
  • Quarterback, Houston Oilers (1982-1983).
  • Quarterback, New Orleans Saints (1971-1975; 1977-1982).
  • Two-time Pro Bowl selection (1978, 1979).
  • All-Pro selection (1978).
  • All-NFC Team, as named by UPI and The Sporting News (1978).
  • NFC Offensive Player of the Year (1978).
  • NFC Player of the Year, as named by UPI (1978).
  • Byron "Whizzer" White NFL Man of the Year (1977).
  • Second overall pick in the NFL Draft (1971).
  • Quarterback, University of Mississippi (1968-1970).
  • SEC Quarterback of the Quarter Century (195075), awarded by several publications.
  • Number 18 jersey retired by Ole Miss (1970).
  • All-SEC team (1969, 1970).
  • Most Valuable Player in the SEC as recipient of the Nashville Banner Trophy (1969).
  • Mississippi Sportsman of the Year (1969).


  • Bachelor's degree in business, University of Mississippi (1970).

College Football Playoff Selection Committee Members

Jeff Long (chair)
Barry Alvarez Lt. Gen. Mike Gould Pat Haden Tom Jernstedt
Oliver Luck Archie Manning Tom Osborne Dan Radakovich
Condoleezza Rice Mike Tranghese Steve Wieberg Tyrone Willingham