American Conference ACC Big Ten Big 12 Conference USA MAC Mountain West PAC-12 SEC Sun Belt Independents

College Football Playoff

The Official Website of the College Football Playoff

College Football Playoff Selection Committee

Tom Jernstedt

Tom Jernstedt
Tom Jernstedt

  • Served as senior-level executive, including executive vice president, deputy executive director and chief operating officer, throughout 38-year NCAA career (1972-2010).
  • Supervised NCAA Division I, II and III football, including NCAA Football Board of Directors, College Football Officiating LLC and Football Issues Committee.
  • Recruited by legendary football coach Len Casanova; four-year scholarship student-athlete, University of Oregon (1963-1967).

Current Occupation:

  • Senior counselor, The Jernstedt Company.

Career Highlights:

  • Consultant, Mountain West Conference (2012-2013); Big 12 Conference (2010)
  • Oversaw development of 88 Division I, II and III men's and women's NCAA championships. Staff liaison to numerous external Association-related committees.
  • Directed all facets of NCAA basketball, increasing multi-year television contract revenue from $1.2 million (1972) to $10.8 billion (2010).
  • Led various internal functional groups: administration and finance, championships and event management, communications, membership services, public affairs, branding and promotions, broadcasting and corporate alliances.
  • Facilitated NCAA governance plan that incorporated women's championships into NCAA structure (late 1970's).
  • Indianapolis Super Bowl Host Committee, Board of Directors (2009-2012).
  • National Football Foundation, Legacy Award (2010).
  • National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame, Inductee (2010).
  • USA Basketball, Edward S. Steitz Award (2010).
  • Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, John Bunn Award (2001).
  • USA Basketball, Board of Directors (1976-2010), President (2000-2005); United States Olympic Committee, Board of Directors (1974-2002).
  • Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, Board of Trustees (1989-2010).
  • US Collegiate Sports Council, Board of Directors (1987-2010), VP (2004-2010).
  • Held three athletic administrative positions at University of Oregon (1969-1972).


  • Bachelor's degree in political science, University of Oregon (1967).
  • Master's degree in education, University of Oregon (1973).

College Football Playoff Selection Committee Members

Jeff Long (chair)
Barry Alvarez Lt. Gen. Mike Gould Pat Haden Tom Jernstedt
Oliver Luck Archie Manning Tom Osborne Dan Radakovich
Condoleezza Rice Mike Tranghese Steve Wieberg Tyrone Willingham