American Conference ACC Big Ten Big 12 Conference USA MAC Mountain West PAC-12 SEC Sun Belt Independents

College Football Playoff

The Official Website of the College Football Playoff

College Football Playoff Selection Committee

Oliver Luck

Oliver Luck

  • Two-time team MVP and record-setting quarterback for West Virginia University.
  • NFL quarterback for the Houston Oilers.
  • Executive positions with the NFL, Harris County-Houston Sports Authority and Major League Soccer.
  • Currently serves on the NFL's Player Safety Advisory Committee.

Current Occupation:

  • Director of athletics, West Virginia University (2010 to present).

Career Highlights:

  • President and general manager of the Houston Dynamo of Major League Soccer (2005-2010).
  • CEO of Harris County-Houston Sports Authority (2001-2005).
  • CEO of the World League of American Football/NFL Europe (1996-2000).
  • Academic All-American Hall of Fame (2000).
  • General manager of the Rhein Fire (1995).
  • General manager, Frankfurt Galaxy, World League of American Football (1991, 1992).
  • NFL quarterback for the Houston Oilers (1982-1986).
  • Quarterback for West Virginia University (1978-1981).
  • Two-time Academic All-American (1980, 1981).
  • Two-time MVP for West Virginia (1980, 1981).
  • Louis D. Meisel Award (1981).


  • Bachelor's degree in history, magna cum laude, Phi Beta Kappa, Rhodes Scholar finalist, West Virginia University (1982).
  • Juris Doctorate, cum laude, University of Texas (1987).

Read more about Oliver Luck.

College Football Playoff Selection Committee Members

Jeff Long (chair)
Barry Alvarez Lt. Gen. Mike Gould Pat Haden Tom Jernstedt
Oliver Luck Archie Manning Tom Osborne Dan Radakovich
Condoleezza Rice Mike Tranghese Steve Wieberg Tyrone Willingham