American Conference ACC Big Ten Big 12 Conference USA MAC Mountain West PAC-12 SEC Sun Belt Independents

College Football Playoff

The Official Website of the College Football Playoff

College Football Playoff Selection Committee

Pat Haden

Pat Haden

  • Two-time college football national championship winner as quarterback for the University of Southern California.
  • Pro Bowl selection with the NFL's Los Angeles Rams.
  • Rhodes Scholar, businessman and attorney [Lillick, McHose & Charles (1982-1987), Riordan, Lewis & Haden (1987-2010)].
  • 19 years on USC Board of Trustees.

Current Occupation:

  • Director of athletics, University of Southern California (2010 to present).

Career Highlights:

  • Received a joint faculty appointment in the USC Marshall School of Business and USC Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism (2010).
  • USC Board of Trustees and Chair of Academic Affairs and Student Affairs Committees (1991-2010).
  • College football commentator and sportscaster for CBS Sports, ESPN, FOX Sports, NBC Sports, TNT and Westwood One (1982-2009).
  • USC Athletic Hall of Fame (2003).
  • NCAA Anniversary Award (2000).
  • National High School Hall of Fame (1995).
  • Rose Bowl Hall of Fame (1995).
  • Academic All-American Hall of Fame (1988).
  • NFL Quarterback for the Los Angeles Rams (1976-1981).
  • Rhodes Scholar (Degree in philosophy, politics and economics) (1978).
  • Washington D.C. Touchdown Club NFC Player of the Year (1978).
  • NFL Pro Bowl Selection (1977).
  • Recipient of the Today's Top V Award (1975).
  • Two national championships as player at Southern California (1972, 1974).
  • Thirteenth on Southern California's all-time passing list and 14th in career offense.
  • Three Rose Bowl appearances with University of Southern California (1973, 1974, 1975).
  • Two-time Academic All-American (1973, 1974).


  • Bachelor's degree in English, magna cum laude, Phi Beta Kappa, University of Southern California (1975).
  • Rhodes Scholar, degree in philosophy, politics and economics, University of Oxford (1978).
  • Juris Doctorate, Loyola Law School (1982).

Read more about Pat Haden.

College Football Playoff Selection Committee Members

Jeff Long (chair)
Barry Alvarez Lt. Gen. Mike Gould Pat Haden Tom Jernstedt
Oliver Luck Archie Manning Tom Osborne Dan Radakovich
Condoleezza Rice Mike Tranghese Steve Wieberg Tyrone Willingham