American Conference ACC Big Ten Big 12 Conference USA MAC Mountain West PAC-12 SEC Sun Belt Independents

College Football Playoff

The Official Website of the College Football Playoff

College Football Playoff Selection Committee

Barry Alvarez

Barry Alvarez

  • Member of the College Football Hall of Fame.
  • Winningest head coach in University of Wisconsin history.
  • 38 years college football experience as head coach, assistant coach, student-athlete and athletics director.
  • Coach or student-athlete in 22 bowl games at four FBS institutions in three FBS conferences.

Current Occupation:

  • Director of athletics, University of Wisconsin, Madison (2004 to present).

Career Highlights:

  • Athletics director at Wisconsin for a combined 16 national titles in various sports and 37 conference regular season or tournament crowns.
  • Head football coach, University of Wisconsin (1990-2005; 2012).
  • College Football Hall of Fame (2010).
  • Rose Bowl Hall of Fame (2009).
  • Dual roles as athletics director and head football coach at University of Wisconsin (2004-2005).
  • Distinguished Alumnus Award from the University of Nebraska (2003).
  • One of the "100 Most Influential Hispanics" as named by Hispanic Business (2001).
  • Washington County (PA) chapter of the Pennsylvania Sports Hall of Fame (2000).
  • Endowing contributor of a football scholarship at the University of Wisconsin (2000).
  • National Coach of the Year (1993, 1999).
  • Big Ten Conference Coach of the Year (1993, 1998).
  • Assistant football coach, University of Notre Dame (1987-1989).
  • Assistant football coach, University of Iowa (1979-1986).
  • Linebacker for the University of Nebraska, Lincoln (1966-1968).
  • Head football coach, Mason City High School in Mason City, Iowa (1976-1978).
  • Head football coach, Lexington High School in Lexington, Nebraska (1974-1975).
  • Assistant football coach, Lincoln Nebraska High School in Lincoln, Nebraska (1971-1973).


  • Bachelor's degree in education, University of Nebraska (1969).
  • Master's degree in education, University of Nebraska (1970).

Read more about Barry Alvarez.

College Football Playoff Selection Committee Members

Jeff Long (chair)
Barry Alvarez Lt. Gen. Mike Gould Pat Haden Tom Jernstedt
Oliver Luck Archie Manning Tom Osborne Dan Radakovich
Condoleezza Rice Mike Tranghese Steve Wieberg Tyrone Willingham