American Conference ACC Big Ten Big 12 Conference USA MAC Mountain West PAC-12 SEC Sun Belt Independents

College Football Playoff

The Official Website of the College Football Playoff

College Football Playoff Selection Committee

Jeff Long

Chairman, College Football Playoff Selection Committee

Jeff Long

  • 35 years college football experience as assistant coach, student-athlete and administrator. Athletics administration, coaching or staff positions at nine FBS institutions in seven FBS conferences.
  • Experience at FBS, FCS and Division II levels.

Current Occupation:

  • Vice chancellor and director of athletics at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville (2008 to present).

Career Highlights:

  • Member of the NCAA Management Council as one of the athletic administrators overseeing the operations and regulation for Division I.
  • Athletics director, University of Pittsburgh (2003-2007).
  • Senior associate athletics director, University of Oklahoma (2001-03).
  • Athletics director, Eastern Kentucky University (1998-01).
  • Associate athletics director, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (1998).
  • Associate athletics director, University of Michigan (1996-1998).
  • Assistant athletics director, University of Michigan (1990-1996).
  • Assistant to the AD and compliance coordinator, University of Michigan (1988-1990).
  • Assistant to athletics director, Rice University (1988).
  • Graduate assistant football coach, Michigan University (1987).
  • Assistant football coach, Duke University (1986).
  • Administrative assistant for head football coach, North Carolina State (1983-1986).
  • Graduate assistant football coach, Miami University (Ohio) (1982).
  • Football (quarterback and defensive back) and baseball varsity letterman at Ohio Wesleyan University (1978-1981).


  • Bachelor's degree in economics, Ohio Wesleyan University (1982).
  • Master's degree in education, Miami University (Ohio) (1983).

Read more about Jeff Long.

College Football Playoff Selection Committee Members

Jeff Long (chair)
Barry Alvarez Lt. Gen. Mike Gould Pat Haden Tom Jernstedt
Oliver Luck Archie Manning Tom Osborne Dan Radakovich
Condoleezza Rice Mike Tranghese Steve Wieberg Tyrone Willingham