Img cfp interior ph1

Selection Committee

For more information about the selection committee, see the Selection Committee FAQs and the Selection Committee Protocol.


Jeff Long, Chair

Vice Chancellor and Director of Athletics, University of Arkansas-Fayetteville

  • 35 years college football experience as assistant coach, student-athlete and administrator. Athletics administration, coaching or staff positions at nine FBS institutions in seven FBS conferences.
  • Experience at FBS, FCS and Division II levels.


Barry Alvarez

Director of Athletics, University of Wisconsin-Madison

  • Member of the College Football Hall of Fame.
  • Winningest head coach in University of Wisconsin history.
  • 38 years college football experience as head coach, assistant coach, student-athlete and athletics director.
  • Coach or student-athlete in 22 bowl games at four FBS institutions in three FBS conferences.


Lieutenant General Mike Gould (Ret.)

Former Superintendent of the United States Air Force Academy

  • Former Superintendent of U.S. Air Force Academy.
  • Retired three-star general and highly decorated Air Force officer.
  • Former Air Force aide to the President of the United States.
  • Command pilot with 3261 flying hours.


Pat Haden

Director of Athletics, University of Southern California

  • Two-time college football national championship winner as quarterback for the University of Southern California.
  • Pro Bowl selection with the NFL’s Los Angeles Rams.
  • Rhodes Scholar, businessman and attorney [Lillick, McHose & Charles (1982-1987), Riordan, Lewis & Haden (1987-2010)].
  • 19 years on USC Board of Trustees.


Kirby Hocutt

Director of Athletics, Texas Tech University

  • Experience as athletics director at three FBS institutions .
  • College football student-athlete, four-year letterman and all-conference selection.


Tom Jernstedt

Former NCAA Executive Vice President

  • Served as senior-level executive, including executive vice president, deputy executive director and chief operating officer, throughout 38-year NCAA career (1972-2010).
  • Supervised NCAA Division I, II and III football, including NCAA Football Board of Directors, College Football Officiating LLC and Football Issues Committee.
  • Recruited by legendary football coach Len Casanova; four-year scholarship student-athlete, University of Oregon (1963-1967).


Bobby Johnson

Former Head Coach, Vanderbilt University

  • 39 years college football experience as player and coach.
  • Three-year college football letterman, academic all-conference selection.


Tom Osborne

Former Head Coach and Director of Athletics, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

  • Member of the College Football Hall of Fame.
  • Three college football national championships, 12 Big 8 conference championships and one Big 12 championship.
  • Winningest head coach in Nebraska history and eighth highest number of wins in history for major college football coaches.
  • ESPN Coach of the Decade for the 1990s.
  • 42 years college football experience as head coach, assistant coach, student-athlete and athletics director.


Dan Radakovich

Director of Athletics, Clemson University

  • 30 years college football experience as student-athlete, athletics director and associate athletics director.
  • Athletic administrative positions at five FBS institutions.
  • One of 10 athletics directors serving on 2013 NCAA advisory commission to make recommendations on future rules and policies.


Condoleezza Rice

Stanford University professor, former Stanford Provost and former United States Secretary of State

  • Former United States Secretary of State and National Security Advisor.
  • Chosen four times as one of Time magazines “100 Most Influential People.”
  • Twice named “Most Powerful Woman in the World” by Forbes Magazine.
  • Best-selling author.


Mike Tranghese

Former Commissioner, Big East Conference

  • Longest-serving commissioner of the Big East Conference.
  • Leading manager of the launch of Big East football in 1991.
  • Served on the NCAA Men’s Basketball Committee from 1996-2001.
  • Lead administrator of the Bowl Championship Series (BCS) in 2003 and 2004.


Steve Wieberg

Former College Football Reporter, USA Today

  • Top college football writer for USA Today and a sportswriter for more than 30 years.
  • One of the “10 Most Powerful People in College Sports” as named by Chronicle of Higher Education (2007).
  • One of the “50 Most Influential People in College Sports” as selected by College Sports magazine (1995, 1996).


Tyrone Willingham

Former Head Coach of Three FBS Institutions

  • Sporting News Sportsman of the Year in 2002.
  • Named 2002 Coach of the Year by ESPN/Home Depot.
  • Former head coach for three FBS institutions.
  • Coached at seven FBS programs.
  • 36 years college football experience as head coach, assistant coach and walk-on, two-sport student-athlete.