FBS Independents

In addition to the ten conferences in the FBS, there are four Independents — Army, BYU, Notre Dame and Massachusetts.

Click on the school’s name to be redirected to its official athletic website:

Army Army The Black Knights have staged their games at West Point’s Michie Stadium above the banks of New York’s Hudson River since in 1924. Blaik Field at Michie Stadium was dedicated in 1999, to Earl “Red” Blaik, who coached Army to its three national championships (1944, 1945, 1946).
BYU Brigham Young Brigham Young’s football venue in Provo, Utah, opened in 1964 as Cougar Stadium, replacing a much smaller 5,000-seat stadium of the same name. It was renamed for legendary coach LaVell Edwards after he retired in 2000.
Notre Dame Notre Dame Notre Dame Stadium, with its characteristic leather-colored brick in South Bend, Ind., opened in 1930, replacing Cartier Field, which is still used as one of the Fighting Irish’s practice fields.
UMass UMass Transitioning from a FCS member to a Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) institution in 2012, the Minutemen competed in the Mid-American Conference for four seasons before becoming an Independent in 2016. The team plays home games at Gillette Stadium, as well as Warren McGuirk Alumni Stadium in Hadley, MA.